Gluten-Free Marshmallow

Are Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

My husband Al and I noticed the other day that someone asked a search engines one of the deepest, singularly most important, truly fundamental questions of the Gluten-Free Universe which is: are marshmallows gluten-free?

That question is quite possibly “Smore” important than almost any other question known to mortal Man, Woman or Child…

… Especially during summer camping and camp fire months or during holidays like Thanksgiving, Christmas or Easter when marshmallow filled and based treats like Smores, appropriately browned or blackened to a crisp campfire marshmallows, chocolate covered treats and confectioners delights succulently enhanced by the delicate, sugary taste of the beloved marshmallow, are the norm…

… And the list is almost endless… much to the delight of children of all ages!

Gluten-Free Marshmallow

A Beloved Marshmallow

And, since July and August are obviously the “National Campfire Marshmallow Treats Months” in North America, we got talking about just how many things can be made with marshmallows.  Here is a quick list that we came up with…

  • Marshmallow-topped sweet potatoes or yams.  Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners must ALWAYS have this one on the menu to be truly complete and satisfying.
  • Rocky Road Ice Cream/Rocky Road Candy – Did you know that Rocky Road was originally a candy and, because it was so popular, they made it into an ice cream flavor?  And, if memory serves me, we had some just last week … Yum, Yum!
  • Crispy rice treats – Absolutely fabulous, all the time.  Especially if you have little kids.
  • S’mores – what would a day camping, a day at the lake, a picnic or a campfire be without them?
  • “Caught in the wild” camp fire-roasted “fresh” marshmallows… Always the “King” of all marshmallow-based treats… delicately golden brown, slightly charred or burned to a crisp; what more can I say?

If you have any suggestions for an entry for the list, please, leave a comment below.  If we get enough suggestions we will publish the final list.

I might have a longer list but a major problem that I have in my household and a contributory factor to not having a longer list is that my husband almost always eats them by the handful whenever he finds them and leaves the bag open which makes them stale.  So, I hide the marshmallows whenever I buy them and only bring them out when I’m cooking with them.  I suppose that means that “Raw” marshmallows should be added to the list, too.

Another, absolutely MAJOR question that I will need to leave unanswered is “Are Mallo® Cups” manufactured by Boyer® actually gluten-free?”  Based upon the ingredients list on the Boyer® Mallo® Cup site, it looks like it is gluten-free but you will need to contact Boyer® to find out for sure.

And, of course we must give an honorable mention to the Right-Honorable Hot Dog, the other perennial cookout and camping favorite. Personally, I like mine with everything on it.

So, are marshmallows gluten-fee?

Oh, yeah, marshmallows are usually gluten-free but you will need to check the ingredients list or contact the manufacturer to find out for sure.




Print Friendly


  • Jef

    October 17, 2012

    I might be a bit blind, but I didn’t see the answer to the original question. Are marshmallows gluten free?

    • Pat

      October 17, 2012

      That’s a good questions, Jef. In the post the last paragraph says to check the label, and if it isn’t clear that the marshmallows are gluten-free, then contact the manufacturer. I will say that, in my experience, more often than not marshmallows are gluten-free, but not always. So, I always fall back to the safest position: If the label doesn’t show clearly that something is gluten-free, check with the manufacturer. That may seem rather obvious, but it’s easy to overlook. According to labeling rules, the manufacturer doesn’t actually have to state that gluten is in the ingredients. They only need to state if there is WHEAT or any of the OTHER SEVEN common allergens. (I discuss this in more detail in my ebook, Eating and Living a Gluten-Free Diet…The Official Guide.) That means that barley, rye and some other less common gluten-y grains can actually be in the ingredients in amounts too small to require being listed by name. For example, the all-inclusive, commonly seen “flavorings” covers a lot of ingredients, some of them gluten-y. So, please be careful and don’t eat any “flavorings,” etc., that you haven’t checked with the manufacturer.

      • Rachel Bender

        December 30, 2012

        I just met with a nutritionist (I have celiac’s) and she told me that natural flavorings are fine and not to worry about them. I think your information is a bit misleading here about flavorings…

        • Pat

          December 31, 2012

          Hi Rachel,

          Thank you so much for your question. It would help me answer you more accurately if you could tell me where the statement about natural flavorings that you are concerned about is located in my website. Please understand that the Elegantly, Gluten-Free website is pretty darn big so I don’t remember where everything I actually wrote on a given subject is located and the search feature on my theme is less than helpful in this regard. There is nothing that I can see in the “Are Marshmallows Gluten Free” post about natural flavorings. While I’m awaiting your response, please let me give you the short answer about food flavorings…

          Some natural food flavoring is actually made from or contains barley malt or rye flavoring and, I would assume similar substances. However, it is my understanding that natural food flavorings, if made in the US, are probably, but not always, made from corn rather than barley or rye. This may be why your dietician said what she did. However, the operative word here is “probably.” There is no FDA regulation or U.S. Law that I am familiar with which controls how things are made from a food additive standpoint. The Law and the FDA only control when and under what conditions the manufacturer must divulge what a product is made from.

          Although it is not a comprehensive treatment of the subject, I do discuss quite a bit about food additives and related subjects in various places in my latest book called Eating and Living a Gluten-Free Diet…The Official Guide. It’s currently on sale at $5.99 from Amazon Kindle (Non-sale price is $7.97). You can buy a copy by [clicking here].

          Again, thank you for your comment and I look forward to hearing from you again in the near future.


  • Al Phillips

    July 18, 2012

    I really like jello with marshmallow topping.

Leave A Response