Salsa has been a staple in my kitchen for a long time.
After all, I grew up in South Texas where salsa appears almost everywhere.
My favorite, though, has always been pico de gallo, also called salsa fresca or “fresh salsa.”
Are dried beans gluten-free? Until recently, I’d have instantly said “Yes!”… keep reading to find out why I was wrong.
Navy beans are one of our favorites around here… and, it’s one of my husband Al’s all-time favorites. He likes them with just about anything…in a salad, as part of a main dish or as a side with dinner. He likes them in many combinations, but most of all, he loves them in gluten-free navy bean soup.
Navy Bean Soup is an easy, gluten-free recipe to make, especially in my slow cooker.
If you are a gluten-free Christian, I expect that you might have the same problem that I run into when I take Holy Communion.
The Host (the Bread) is gluten-y.
So, in answer to the question in the title… No, communion wafers (or the equivalent), as a general rule, are not gluten-free.
Baked polenta is an easy gluten-free recipe that works great as a side with dinner. Plus, I really enjoy it for lunch… Especially since it’s so quick & easy to prepare.
If you have ever had grits – especially Southern-style grits with butter, syrup and bacon – you might recognize a similarity to traditional Italian polenta.
They are both made from ground, dried corn. In fact, some would say they are interchangeable, although polenta is usually a coarser grind than grits and the type of corn used is “flint” corn, making a firmer texture after cooking. If you can’t find polenta where you shop, you can substitute grits in a pinch. Some stores also have cooked polenta in a tube in the dairy or meat case.
Baked polenta fits into a 30 minute meal easily, even if I want to add some of the optional toppings like sautéed onion or mushrooms.
I love peaches. I was born in Fredericksburg, Texas…
… Smack-dab in the middle of the Texas Hill Country’s many peach orchards!
And, I think peaches are so good that I wondered what they might taste like in a salsa.
So, I decided to whip up a batch to find out.
I discovered a new brand of rotini with good flavor and lots of nutrition.
I was interested in this new product from Tolerant when I saw that it is made solely of lentils – Non-GMO Organic Red Lentils… Nothing else.
That makes it gluten-free and also free of the top eight allergens. This low-glycemic rotini is certified gluten-free, non-GMO, organic, vegan and kosher.
Since it is made from red lentils, it has a delicate pink tint that is lovely and appetizing whether in a salad with greens and dressing or in a skillet with peppers, onion and sauce.