Gluten-Free Gingerbread Decorated with Red Sugar Crystals for the Holidays

Gingerbread and My Holiday Wishes for You

Sweet and spicy, tender and springy gingerbread …it’s a traditional recipe for any time of the year.  But, if you dress it up a little with some decorator’s red sugar, it takes on a more festive air.  This gluten-free recipe is easy to make and frugal, too, but it also is wonderful for serving your family and your guests.

I hope you have a blessed holiday season and a very Merry Christmas!

Warm Gluten-Free Gingerbread Decorated with Red Sugar Crystals for the Holidays

Gluten-Free Gingerbread Decorated with Red Sugar Crystals for the Holidays



Gluten-Free Gingerbread

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time: 45 minutes

Total Time: 1 hour

Makes 12-16 pieces


2-1/4 Cups Gluten-free Flour Mix, or:

3/4 Cup White Rice Flour, 120g

1/2 Cup Gar Fava Flour, 60g

1/2 Cup Tapioca Starch, 60g

1/4 Cup Sorghum Flour, 34g

1/4 Cup Potato Starch, 48g

Other Dry Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 Teaspoons Xanthan
  • 1/3 Cup Sugar
  • 1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Ginger, ground
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Cinnamon, ground
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Salt

Wet ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Dark Molasses
  • 1/2 Cup Oil
  • 3/4 Cup Hot Water
  • 1/3 Cup Water
  • 1 Egg

1 Tablespoon Decorator’s Red Sugar, optional


Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease 8×8- or 9×9-inch pan, or line with parchment.

Sift together the dry ingredients and mix well.

Add the remaining ingredients.

Mix well.

Pour into pan. Bake for 35-45 minutes until it springs back when pressed lightly with fingertip and/or when a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cool slightly before sprinkling the optional colored sugar over the top.

Cut into squares and serve.


Gluten-Free Gingerbread Decorated with Red Sugar Crystals for the Holidays

Warm Gluten-Free Gingerbread Decorated with Red Sugar Crystals




Miz Helen’s Country Cottage Full Plate Thursday

Frugal Follies’ Frugal Food Thursday

Cybele Pascal’s Allergy Friendly Friday

Vegetarian Mamma’s Gluten-Free Fridays


Print Friendly


  • Thank you for including both the GF flour blend and the All purpose GF flour measurements! Awesome! Sorry this is coming late, I have been set back by illness and a painful tooth :(

    Each week I am amazed by the wonderful loyal bloggers that return each week to link up their yummy food and information! I am so happy that each week we have a few new bloggers that join our group!

    Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! :)
    I hope to see you again next week!

    This week’s link up is live, come on over and join the fun, if you haven’t already.

    Cindy from

    • Pat

      December 28, 2012


      I hope you are feeling 100% better soon! Thanks for your kind words and for promoting my Gingerbread. GFFridays has so many delish recipes to browse!

      Best wishes for a Happy New Year to you and your family —

  • Miz Helen

    December 22, 2012

    Hi Pat,
    Your Gingerbread brings back such wonderful memories for me, my Mother made Gingerbread every Christmas and I can still smell it and almost taste it. Your recipe looks delicious and one that everyone in my family can enjoy! Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday. Wishing you and your family a very Merry Christmas!
    Come Back Soon,
    Miz Helen

    • Pat

      December 22, 2012

      Thank you so much, Miz Helen. I love how a simple dish can bring back rich memories of not just food, but of special people and places and times. Have a wonderful memory-making time this Christmas!

  • Shirley @ gfe

    December 22, 2012

    YUM, Pat! I’m all about gingerbread! 😉

    Merry Christmas, dear!

    • Pat

      December 22, 2012

      Thanks, Shirley — have a very Merry Christmas!

Leave A Response