Gluten-Free Diet Menu Plan for the Week of June 2, 2013
It’s finally June and summer is just around the corner…
… So I think that it’s time to talk about cookouts, complete with buns and all the trimmings.
In fact, I’ve planned two cookouts in the gluten-free diet menu plan this week. So, we’ll have gluten-free hot dogs one evening and gluten-free hamburgers another evening.
The good news for all of us on a gluten-free diet is that there are now many gluten-free breads available in stores and from recipes.
It seems that every few months I find more options available in the marketplace. I also have an easy-to-bake recipe of my own for gluten-free flatbread that I often use for sandwiches, hot dogs and hamburgers.
My husband, Al, and I both think the recipe tastes pretty good.
Gluten-Free Diet Menu Plan
For the Week of June 2, 2013
Day 1 – 30 Minute Meal
on Gluten-Free Buns or Ciabatta (like Schar’s)
Day 2 – 30 Minute Meal
Day 3 – 30 Minute Meal
Day 4 – Slow Cooker Meal
Day 5 – 30 Minute Meal
Day 6 – Sandwiches (can be Paleo)
Bacon, Lettuce & Tomato Sandwich
Flatbread made with all almond flour
Day 7 – Cookout (can be Paleo, too)
Grilled Hamburgers with Sliced Tomatoes, Onions and Lettuce on
Gluten-Free Buns (like Udi’s Hamburger Buns) or Flatbread made with all-almond-flour
Would you like to find out more about how you too can eat and live gluten-free? If you would, check out my latest book by clicking the book cover below. It’s easier than you think :-)!
This gluten-free menu plan is designed for those with gluten intolerance, gluten sensitivity, or celiac (coeliac) disease, but I’ve found that people who have no food allergies like these gluten-free recipes, too. They are wheat-free, barley-free and rye-free. Many are also suitable for the paleo diet or may be casein-free, dairy-free, egg-free, lactose-free, nut-free or refined sugar-free.
Remember, be sure you check all your ingredients each time you buy them to make sure that nothing contains any gluten. If the label doesn’t show clearly that something is gluten-free, check with the manufacturer. That may seem rather obvious, but it’s easy to overlook. The manufacturer doesn’t actually have to state that gluten is in the ingredients. They only need to state if there is wheat or any of the other seven common allergens. That means that barley, rye and some other less common gluten-y grains can actually be in the ingredients in amounts too small to require being listed by name. For example, the all-inclusive, commonly seen “flavorings” covers a lot of ingredients, some of them gluten-y.
The Organizing Junkie’s Menu Plan Monday