Spiced Cranberry Pear Sauce Completes the Holiday Dinner
When I lay out a plan to seat my guests at a dinner, I want to balance the personalities at each table. I want each group to have some who are gentle and mature, some who are a little outspoken and some who maybe are energetic with a few good stories to share. Similarly, when I’m looking for a completing touch to a gluten-free holiday menu, I can add this tangy, saucy, sweet and spicy choice that is already gluten-free — Spiced Cranberry Pear Sauce.
This simple gluten-free recipe will complement a holiday meal and is so easy to make. I hope you’ll “invite” some to your next holiday dinner
- 1 Cup Water
- 1 Stick Cinnamon (or use a sprinkle of ground cinnamon)
- 2 Large Pears, peeled and diced
- 1 Cup Sugar
- 1 Pound Fresh Cranberries, rinsed
- 1/4 Cup Hot Water, boiling
- 1 Package Gelatin Powder, Unsweetened, Knox
Break cinnamon stick in half.
Peel, core and chop the pear.
In medium sauce pan, combine water and cinnamon stick. Heat to boiling over high heat.
Add pears, cover, reduce heat to medium and cook for 3 minutes.
Meanwhile, unless you like a lot of chewy "skin" in your cranberry sauce, chop the cranberries a little in the food processor.
Stir the cranberries into the boiling pears, and return mixture to boiling. Reduce heat and simmer 8 to 10 minutes more, until cranberries are popped (if still whole), which means they're cooked, and the mixture has thickened slightly.
Meanwhile, boil some water. Measure 1/4 cup into a small dish (like a custard cup or measuring cup) and before it cools, quickly stir in the packet of unsweetened gelatin. Stir for several minutes -- at least 3 or 4 -- so that the gelatin will be fully dissolved.
When the gelatin is dissolved and the cranberries are finished cooking, stir the gelatin into the cranberries. Mix thoroughly.
Cool to room temperature. (The sauce will thicken more as it cools.)
Remove cinnamon sticks. Pour the sauce into a 1-quart dish; cover and refrigerate up to 1 week.
This gluten-free recipe is designed for those with gluten intolerance, gluten sensitivity, or celiac disease, but I’ve found that people who have no food allergies like it, too. It is wheat-free, barley-free and rye-free. Also, it’s one of my gluten-free recipes that is egg-free, nut-free, casein-free, dairy-free and lactose-free.
Remember: If the label doesn’t show clearly that something is gluten-free, check with the manufacturer. That may seem rather obvious, but it’s easy to overlook. The manufacturer doesn’t actually have to state that gluten is in the ingredients. They only need to state if there is wheat or any of the other seven common allergens. (I discuss this in more detail in my ebook, Eating and Living a Gluten-Free Diet…The Official Guide.) That means that barley, rye and some other less common gluten-y grains can actually be in the ingredients in amounts too small to require being listed by name. For example, the all-inclusive, commonly seen “flavorings” covers a lot of ingredients, some of them gluten-y.
One Creative Mommy’s Gluten-Free Monday
Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free’s Slightly Indulgent Tuesday
The Gluten-Free Homemaker’s Gluten-Free Wednesdays
Miz Helen’s Country Cottage Full Plate Thursday
Frugal Follies’ Frugal Food Thursday
Vegetarian Mamma’s Gluten-Free Fridays