Sponsored Links

Tomato Salad with Oil-Free Vinaigrette

Fresh, vine-ripened tomatoes add so much nutrition to a gluten-free diet — however, their flavor is the main reason I eat them, and I enjoy fresh tomato recipes like this salad.   One way to serve them, alone or with other vegetables, is with one of my favorites, this gluten-free salad dressing.

Gluten-Free Tomatoes, Cucumber and Onion with Oil-Free Vinaigrette

Gluten-Free Tomatoes, Cucumber and Onion with Oil-Free Vinaigrette


My mom taught me this vinaigrette recipe using sugar a long time ago.  Since then I’ve tried different sweeteners and I must say that they all taste good.  Agave is the one I like most often, though.

The vinegar can be changed, too, so feel free to use balsamic or rice or raspberry-infused vinegar, or whatever your favorite vinegar is, as long as it’s gluten-free. For example, don’t use a malt vinegar if you are gluten intolerant or gluten sensitive. Check the label, and if you aren’t sure about the ingredients, contact the manufacturer!

If the label doesn’t say clearly that something is gluten-free, check with the manufacturer.  That may seem rather obvious, but it’s easy to overlook.  The manufacturer isn’t the one who gets sick from eating gluten, so they may not be interested in making it easy for those of us who do.  They don’t actually have to state that gluten is in the ingredients.  They only need to state if there is wheat or any of the other seven common allergens. (I discuss this in more detail in my ebook, Eating and Living a Gluten-Free Diet…The Official Guide.) That means that barley, rye and some other less common gluten-y grains can actually be in the ingredients in amounts too small to require being listed by name.  For example, the all-inclusive, commonly seen “flavorings” covers a lot of ingredients, some of them gluten-y.

There was news this week of a well-known coffee manufacturer whose products, it turns out, are not gluten-free. Apparently the ingredients list on these products does not indicate any gluten.  However, their whole line, even the basic roasted, unflavored coffee, is not gluten-free, but you wouldn’t know unless you contacted the manufacturer to ask.  Be careful.

Get your fresh tomatoes ready so you can enjoy their whole food goodness that is rich in vitamins A and C, in lycopene, and more – and throw together this tomato salad in a matter of minutes.  You may find it’s one of your favorite salad dressing recipes.


Tomato Salad with Oil-Free Vinaigrette

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Total Time: 10 minutes

Makes 3 – 4 servings


  • 2 Cups Ripe Tomato, sliced
  • 1 Cup Cucumber, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 Cup Sweet Onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 Cup Red and Green Bell Pepper, thinly sliced
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste


Prepare the dressing, if not already done, by stirring together until the sweetener is dissolved.

Pour the dressing over the vegetables.

Chill, if you like.

Adjust seasoning to taste with salt and pepper.



This vegetarian, dairy-free, egg-free and nut-free recipe is gluten-free.  If you use agave or honey, it will also be refined sugar-free and suitable for a paleo diet.


See it also here:

Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free’s Slightly Indulgent Tuesday

The Gluten-Free Homemaker’s Gluten-Free Wednesdays

Miz Helen’s Country Cottage Full Plate Thursday

The Nourishing Gourmet’s Pennywise Platter Thursday

Vegetarian Mamma’s Gluten-Free Fridays